About Us

El Concilio Is A Non-Profit, Community-Focused Organization That Seeks To Help Latinx Residents Support Their Families, Contribute To Society And Appreciate Their Cultural Significance In The Region.

OUR MISSION

To enable and promote the prosperity of the Latinx Community.

OUR VISION

A thriving Latinx community, equipped to preserve distinct cultural identities within the broader community.

OUR VALUES

  • Respect for Human Dignity
  • Service and Leadership
  • Authentic Collaborations
  • Education and Entrepreneurship
  • Respect for Diverse Cultural Traditions
  • Embrace Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

OUR STAFF

Adrian Vazquez

Executive Director
vazquez@elconciliokzoo.org

Irving Quintero

Associate Director
irving@elconciliokzoo.org

Celestina Robles

Administrative Coordinator
robles@elconciliokzoo.org

Zayra Bujanos

Community Engagement
bujanos@elconciliokzoo.org

Karolain Garcia

Office Manager
Karolain@elconciliokzoo.org

Jessica Cortes

Director of Programs cortes@elconciliokzoo.org

Otto "Tito" Asbeury

Academia Azteca Coordinator asbeury@elconciliokzoo.org

Eva Ramirez

Academia Azteca Coach
ramirez@elconciliokzoo.org

Maria Faison

Mente Sana Counselor
faison@elconciliokzoo.org

Roxana Almonacid

Mente Sana Counselor
almonacid-sinn@elconciliokzoo.org

Jesus Grillo

Road To Success Coach
grillo@elconciliokzoo.org

Irene Bello

Community Health Navigator
bello@elconciliokzoo.org

Jeff Geromin

Preschool Director
geronim@elconciliokzoo.org

Jocelyn Velasco

Preschool Asst. Teacher
gonzalez@elconciliokzoo.org

Liliana Obregon

Preschool Family Administrator
obregon@elconciliokzoo.org

Giselle Gutierrez-Monroy

Preschool Teacher Aide

El Concilio has more than 40 years of experience in providing services, programs, advocacy and creating partnerships to support the needs of the Latinx community in the greater Kalamazoo area.As a liaison between potential clients and service agencies, the Council seeks to meet the needs of a special population often hindered by language barriers, cultural differences, and unfamiliarity with service agencies and institutions.

Through the programs and services offered, the goal of the Council is to assist Hispanics in attaining self-sufficiency and a higher level of social and economic well-being.  The Council also strives to nourish and encourage the diverse cultural heritage of the Hispanic population.

The Hispanic American Council has been advocating and providing culturally sensitive services for Hispanics since 1981. In the early 1970’s, a group of Hispanics affiliated with St. Joseph’s Catholic Church met regularly to recite the rosary and discuss issues affecting the Hispanic community.

When an elected official made a public racial remark this group organized into The Spanish-Speaking Steering Committee to educate the community about Hispanics, their needs, and their contributions to Kalamazoo.  This committee grew into the Hispanic American Council and became a 501(c)3 organization in January 1981.

On November 2nd of 2017, El Concilio became the new official name of the Hispanic American Council – El Concilio will continue serving the Latino community of greater Kalamazoo and partners.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Maria Luisa Diaz

President
Huntington Bank

Sandra Calderón-Huezo

Vice President
Open Doors Kalamazoo

Fidel Salas

Treasurer
EDP Renewables NA, Civil Inspector

Susan Hernandez

Secretary
Berkshire Hathaway Real Estate

Luis Garcia

Board Member
Business Owner

Angel L Gullon-Rivera, Ph.D

Board Member
Western Michigan University

Phil Cruz

Board Member
Huntington Bank

Diana Hernandez

Board Member
Western Michigan University Retiree

Fanny Fernandez

Board Member
YWCA

Mark McKeon

Board Member
Stryker Corporation

Ariel Castillo

Board Member
Miller Davis Construction Corp.

Rachel Viñales

Board Member
Kalamazoo Defenders

Lana Escamilla

Board Member
LEWIS REED & ALLEN, P.C.

Lissette Mira-Amaya

Emeritus Board Member

Bob Ezell

Emeritus Board Member

Roberto Flacheir

Emeritus Board Member

Our Vision

A thriving Latino community, equipped to preserve distinct cultural identities within the broader community.

Quick Links

Resources

Proud Partner of